Theo tin Thành phố Gaithersburg

City of Gaithersburg Mayor, Council Candidate Packets Available June 2

Posted: May 22, 2017 Gaithersburg City Election 2017 Gaithersburg residents will cast their ballots for Mayor and two City Council Members on Tuesday, November 7, 2017. The terms of office for Mayor Jud Ashman and Council Members Yvette Monroe and Mike Sesma expire in November. Note that Council Member Monroe was appointed to complete the term of Henry Marraffa, following his passing in October of 2016. The Mayor and Council Members elected in 2017 will each serve a four-year term. Candidate Packets for this election cycle will be released on June 2. The packets will be available online here or can be picked up at City Hall, 31 South Summit Avenue, between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. Candidates must file a petition for candidacy with the City Board of Supervisors of Elections via the City Attorney’s Office. The petition must be signed by at least 100 City residents who are registered voters. Petitions and associated documents must be returned to the City Attorney’s Office by 5 p.m. on Friday, September 22, 2017. After petitions of nomination have been validated by the Gaithersburg Board of Supervisors of Elections, the candidates’ names will be placed on the ballot. Note that residency and other restrictions apply. Candidates will be required to attend one of two training sessions, and financial reporting is required throughout the campaign. The Candidate Packet contains full details. City residents who are registered to vote in Montgomery County are automatically registered to vote in City of Gaithersburg elections. The deadline to register to vote for this election is Monday, October 23, 2017. For registration information contact the Montgomery County Board of Elections at 240-777-VOTE (8683) or visit Early voting will be available and write-in candidates will also be allowed in this election. Regardless of precinct, registered voters in the City of Gaithersburg may vote at City Hall on Saturday and Sunday, October 28 and 29. Saturday hours are 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Sunday hours are noon to 5 p.m. For more information on City of Gaithersburg elections click here or contact the Elections Clerk.]]>

By adminVV

Leave a Reply