Theo tin

BIPARTISAN COMMITTEE TO ANNOUNCE PROPOSAL TO ADDRESS VIRGINIA GERRYMANDERING DECEMBER 03, 2018 Press Conference Announcing Constitutional Amendment Proposal 10:15 a.m., Thursday, November 29, 2018 House Room 2 of the Capitol, Richmond Richmond, VA — A bipartisan panel of former political leaders and election law experts from throughout Virginia on Thursday will unveil its proposed state Constitutional amendment to ensure Virginia has a redistricting process that’s transparent, protects communities, and ensures that politicians are not picking their voters. The Citizens Constitutional Amendment Drafting Committee will announce the details of its plan to create an independent redistricting commission after the 2020 Census to take control of the process for drawing legislative district boundaries. The process is currently in the hands of the General Assembly. A press conference will be held at 10:15 a.m., Thursday, Nov. 29, in House Room 2 in the Capitol Building. Virginia is ranked as one of the most gerrymandered states in the country, both on the congressional and state levels. said committee Chair Wyatt Durrette, former Republican candidate for Virginia governor. The full list of members of this committee is listed below. The committee was assembled in August by the nonpartisan group OneVirginia2021. To go into effect in time for redistricting following the 2020 Census, the amendment must pass the General Assembly that convenes this January and pass again in the 2020 session. It then would go to Virginia voters in a referendum. More information on the Virginia redistricting process is available here. More information on the proposal for the amendment will be available at after the announcement. “This committee of Democrats, Republicans and independent election law experts worked together in a spirit of collaboration and compromise to develop an open redistricting process that would give back to voters a real choice when they go to the polling booth,” Here are the members of the Citizens Constitutional Amendment Drafting Committee: WYATT DURRETTE, Chairman – Former Republican nominee for Governor, former member of the House of Delegates, litigation attorney for OneVirginia2021 WARD ARMSTRONG – Former Minority Leader (Democrat), House of Delegates KEN CUCCINELLI – Former Republican nominee for Governor, former Attorney General, former member of the Virginia Senate REBECCA GREEN – W&M Law School professor, co-director of the Election Law Program of the W&M Law School and the National Center for State Courts PAUL HARRIS – Former member of the House of Delegates (Republican), Senior Vice President at Hampton University A.E. DICK HOWARD – UVA Law School professor, constitutional scholar, executive director of the commission that drafted the current Virginia Constitution (1971) GREG LUCYK – Former Senior Assistant Attorney General of Virginia and former Chief Staff Attorney of the Supreme Court of Virginia JACKIE STONE – Partner and former chair of Diversity & Inclusion Committee at McGuireWoods, accomplished advocate before Virginia General Assembly BOBBY VASSAR – Former Senior Counsel and Legislative Director for Congressman Bobby Scott, former Subcommittee Chief Counsel, U.S. House Judiciary Committee JOHN WATKINS – Former member of the House of Delegates and Virginia Senate (Republican)]]>

By adminVV